Find out the latest information about how we are managing Coronavirus (COVID-19) within Greater London Middlesex West. Click Here

Explorer Scouts

What are Explorer Scouts?

Explorer Scouts are young people aged between 14 and 18 years old. There will be times when you will be busy doing other things such as exams, and being an Explorer Scout will have to fit around these. As an Explorer Scout, you will get the chance to work with other Explorer Scouts in your District, not just your Unit. By doing this, you will get the chance to do many more activities, not just the ones your Unit organises.

Awards and Badges

The Explorer Scout programme is based around six programme zones:

  • Outdoor and Adventure
  • Global
  • Community
  • Fit for Life
  • Creative
  • Beliefs and Attitudes

All Explorer Scout units are expected to follow a programme that is balanced across these zones. There are a number of major awards to be gained in the Explorer Scout section, these focus around the Duke of Edinburgh’s award scheme, and with a little extra activity, Explorer Scouts also gain their Chief Scouts Awards. Additionally, there are specialist activity badges in the variety of activities from swimming and ICT to kayaking and air activities.

Put your phone down and what are you left with? Just teamwork, courage and the skills to succeed.’
Bear Grylls, Chief Scout Bear Grylls